Uncategorized

Ohhh oatmeal, let me count the ways…

Sooo, my morning started with a little of this:

IMG_1948

In a slow cooker:

  • 1 cup steel cut oats
  • 3 1/2 cups water
  • 1 whole apple, chopped
  • allspice, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger

Cover and turn on low heat for 7-8 hours.  Enjoy the mushy mess in the morning, add other toppings if you’d like. 

I added 1 tbsp brown sugar and some vanilla flavoring.

IMG_1950

Notice the apple chunks by my spoon? Smile

IMG_1949

IMG_1951

If I didn’t try to get 8 hours of sleep a night, I’d try cooking them a little bit less…for some reason the slow cooker makes oats EXTRA extra gooey, which is good if you enjoy your oatmeal mushy.  I, on the other hand, am partial to a slightly soupy, crunchy feel.

Anyways, enjoy your morning!

<3, Jenna

How do you like to eat oatmeal (if you do like oatmeal)? What are your favorite toppings?

One thought on “Ohhh oatmeal, let me count the ways…

Leave a Reply

