Uncategorized

Put the lime in the coconut…

…or, in my case…try to toast the coconut to put in the oats and almost burn your house down…haha.

I tried to toast some of these bad boys in my toaster oven for 5 minutes (as instructed) but I started to smell burning and, well, they burned.

IMG_1823

So, with little time to spare this morning I just made some regular steel cut oats with banana, chia seeds, peanut butter, and some brown sugar.

IMG_1825IMG_1824

And now, off to work I go.

 

Anyone know how to prevent the flakes from burning? Should I soak them in water first? Ugh.

<3, Jenna

7 thoughts on “Put the lime in the coconut…

  1. I usually toast coconut flakes in a frying pan on top of the stove – medium heat (no oil) and you just have to make sure you stir often. Once it starts to brown you need to pull the pan off the heat and remember that the coconut will keep toasting as long as it’s in the hot pan.

  2. Maybe the heating element in the toaster over is too close to the pan? I know it is kind of a waste of energy, but maybe try it just to compare. The frying pan seems like a good alternative as well. Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

