Uncategorized

Well, hello again :)

Hey there!

Hope you all had a great day! It’s only Tuesday, but this week is flyin’ by for me!

Breakfast= english muffin w/peanut butter and banana

IMG_1788

And yes, I took this to work and gobbled it down before I had to actually start…working for the day.

Lunch= small salad with red peppers and cukes, my own dressing, served with a 13 bean soup that I made yesterday in the slow cooker!

IMG_1790

IMG_1789

I know, I know.  The soup kind of looks like the digestive system gone wrong, but I promise it was good.  I bought a bag of Bob’s Red Mill 13 Bean Soup Mix at the organic market the other day because it was on sale.  I’ve never made anything with dried beans before, so it was an adventure. 

The night before last, I put the bean mix into a tupperware container full of water and let them soak overnight.  The next morning, I drained and rinsed the soaked beans and put them into my little slow cooker along with 2 cups of water, 1/2 cup or so of chicken stock, 1/4 cup cornstarch, some chopped fresh organic carrots, celery, garlic, and mushrooms.

After 8 hours on low heat, I checked the soup after work and it was still kind of watery/didn’t have a lot of flavor/the beans weren’t completely cooked.  Sooooo, needless to say I didn’t have any bean soup for dinner last night.

Instead, I put the slow cooker on high and let the soup simmer for about an hour or so, let it cool, then stuck it in the fridge overnight with a hefty dose of my random favorite spices in the pantry.

This morning, I put some in a container, crossed my fingers while heating it up at lunch and it was actually delicious! My coworker even said, “Oh! What is that? It smells awesome.”   Success. Smile [Sorry I don’t have many pictures, I was an awful photographer yesterday…]

After work today, I hopped on a stationary bike and kept my heart rate up for a solid 30 minutes.  I have a Polar heart rate monitor, which makes it MUCH easier to track how many calories I’m burning and how hard my body is working.  It also helps to see how much better I’m getting at a certain exercise over time.  When my 30 minutes was up, I hopped on a treadmill and speedwalked for 15 minutes.  Tomorrow is a running day, so I was trying not to run and overuse those muscles.

Once I got home, I sifted through my refrigerator trying to figure out what was expiring soonish.  I ended up throwing two containers of a few remaining chicken sausages from Trader Joe’s into the freezer for future use, and realized that some smoked salmon I have will be bad within the next week.  So….dinner was a multigrain sandwich thin with lite cream cheese and smoked salmon, along with a key lime yogurt and some blanched fresh organic broccoli.

IMG_1793

Seriously, who knew blanched broccoli was SO DELICIOUS?  I never ever in a lifetime thought I’d ever say that, but it really was yummy.  I always thought that blanching would mean my broccoli would just be wet and stay hard and crunchy.  Nope, turns out after 3 minutes in boiled water those pretty little green bunches soften and taste awesome with a little salt, pepper and garlic powder. Mmmm mmmmm.

IMG_1796

Yum yum yummmmmm yum.

I was satisfyingly stuffed after dinner, but still craved a little something sweet.  I settled with a White Mint Truffle ice cream bar made by Skinny Cow:

(Source: here)

Yum again.

And, to wrap things up I made myself a cup of Yogi tea because I just love those little inspirational quotes they include.  For example…

IMG_1808

Sorry that the pic is so blurry.

I’ll leave you with this.

IMG_1802

Yup, that’s little Lily trying to pretend she’s a real baby.  She crawled up into my lap after dinner and I picked her up upside down and she just laid there, eventually falling asleep with her head upside down too.  She’s too cute.

Off to watch the State of the Union speech! My full time job is in politics, after all Winking smile

<3, Jenna

Are any of you planning on watching the speech? What do you spend your weeknights doing? Hobbies? Clubs? TV Shows? Yoga?

Leave a Reply

