Uncategorized

Yoga Dabbler

Well, I’m not so sure that “dabbler” is a word, but what I’m trying to say is that I’ve dabbled in Yoga a few times within the past year…which makes me a yoga….er…dabbler?  I’ve felt awesome each time the sessions were over but never started going regularly. 

After reading a few blogs lately, I have kept seeing references to YogaDownload.com, a site that lets you download single use, or multiple use videos for 20, 30, 45 and 60 minute classes. 

So, after work I had a great elliptical workout and headed straight home to make an egg, chicken sausage, and bit of cheese sandwich for dinner. (It’s odd, but most of the time when I’ve had a great workout all I want are some eggs…protein maybe? Who knows. )

IMG_1650IMG_1653

Anyway, I relaxed for a while following my scrumptious dinner and then downloaded the Yoga for Weight Loss #1 Video.

I was skeptical at first, but the video was completely worth the $5 I spent on it.  I can keep the video for future uses, which is great.  Not to mention, my body definitely needed some good stretching since I’ve really been taking my exercise game up a notch these past few weeks.  Yoga is always a little harder than I give it credit for, but absolutely rejuvenating.  Favorite pose? Savasana.

Aka…relaxing on the floor once the yoga session is over Winking smile 

In other news, lunch yesterday consisted of a similar salad as I’ve had the past two days this week for lunch.  I am not a huge fan of salads, mostly because I’d prefer to have something warm this time of year during my lunch break, but I feel WAY more alert for the rest of the afternoon if my lunch has been a salad rather than, let’s say, a regular old sandwich. 

IMG_1645

And on the side, I finished up the other piece of cornbread that I bought last night and had some fruit.  I was feeling pretty full after my salad and cornbread, so I donated my string cheese to a good cause…my coworker.

IMG_1646

This is kind of a backwards post this morning, but yesterday morning I had some overnight oats waiting for me, recipe courtesy of Lauren @ Biochemista,  That will link you to her recipe page, but mine was a little different.  I had two cups of rolled oats, two cups water and two cups almond milk, 1/4 cup maple agave (I’m going to run out soon!!) some ground cinnamon, allspice and ginger.  Stir in slow cooker, set on low, and cook for 8 hours. 

My mixture went from this:

IMG_1639

To this…

IMG_1640

And after being stirred, this:

IMG_1641

Yum.  It was super spiced maple overnight oats!  I’m glad that I added a few dashes of ginger in the mixture. Next time I’m going to add a little more liquid, and maybe cook for an hour or so less.  This was awesome, but I prefer my oats a little less mushy.  Overall? GREAT, great idea Lauren! Maybe this weekend I’ll try some overnight steel cut oats…yum.

And now, off to eat some more of this delicious oatmeal then back to the grind (aka, work at a desk all day…blah).

<3, Jenna

Do you love oatmeal too? What’s your favorite mixture of things to add to oatmeal in the morning?

4 thoughts on “Yoga Dabbler

  1. I love oatmeal! I like the typical banana, cinnamon, almond butter and vanilla, but the kicker is adding a tsp of real raspberry jam. It is like eating an almond butter and jelly sandwich with banana. Try it instead of the agave one time 🙂

Leave a Reply

