Uncategorized

New books and sore muscles

This post shall be quick, because I have very important things to do:

  • Catch up on 38 blog posts…yep. 38. I haven’t read more than two all day.
  • Finish reading this fantastic book I bought during my lunch break today…

IMG_1661

This book came out recently and describes the author’s (Kris Carr’s) journey from being diagnosed with non-treatable cancer at the age of 30 and her transition from a sedentary, processed food life to one of veganism.  Now, I’m not going to run out and stop eating everything but vegetables…but it is definitely inspirational and worth the read.  I may or may not be trying her 21 day adventure cleanse in the next few weeks…anyone up for a challenge?

I had another FAN-freaking-TASTIC salad for lunch today (see how I psyched myself up about it?) similar to yesterday’s so I won’t bore you with photos.  With lunch I enjoyed a chocolate VitaTop that cured my carby/chocolate cravings, and then enjoyed a little fruit which I finished before hitting up the gym at 5:30 for the 2nd day of my 2nd week of the Couch to 5K Program. 

So far? Still feeling great…although, admittedly a little sore in the shoulders from yesterday’s yoga session.  I guess I’ll need to work on some upper body strength for all of those chaturangas and downward facing dogs. Ouchers.

Once I got home I was starvingggg so I heated up some leftover roasted veggies from the other day, and made a smoothie including:

  • fat free organic milk
  • frozen berries
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • handful spinach
  • 1/4 avocado
  • 1 tsp peanut butter, natural style

Voila!

IMG_1657

In other news: I wore this cute outfit to work today.

IMG_1656

Please note the adorable boots I bought myself for Christmas (hehe) and remind yourself that the word “cute” is relative when you work in a Congressional office…aka, most of the time I wear a suit and feel like a 40 year old woman.

Okay, sorry to keep this brief but I’m off for some more educational reading, a lot of sleeping, and a potential fondue adventure with friends tomorrow night after work.

Stay tuned for this weekend’s post on budgeting  (I promise I’ll actually do it this time) as well as a detailed book review of the Crazy, Sexy Diet by Kris Carr.

Good articles: here  and here and an Amazon “peek inside” here. Enjoy!

<3, Jenna

Have you ever been tempted to become a vegetarian/vegan?  Are you already?  What aspects do you enjoy about that lifestyle?  If you eat meat, what do you think you would miss the most?

Leave a Reply

