Uncategorized

I aammmm tiiirrreeedddd.

Not too exciting of a title, but an honest one for sure.

Remember my lengthy which-gym-should-I-join debate (with myself)?  Well, I wasn’t sure whether or not I should join the fancy $90/month gym, or the not-so-fancy $20/month gym  that’s in the same building I work in.  Well, after some financial reflection (aka all that talk about grocery budgeting) I decided that I should follow my own rules and allow for some flexibility in my budgeting. 

So, after work I signed up for the gym (which is conveniently located two floors above my office) and got right to my first workout in my second week of the Couch to 5k program.  The change?  Instead of running for one minute and walking for two, I was running a minute and a half and walking a minute and a half.  It was nice to actually run a little more, I felt like I was accomplishing something.  Not much, but at least a consistent step in the right direction.

After the workout I walked home and ate one of the quickest meals I could think of:

Berry Smoothie w/a little cereal:

  • handful of baby spinach
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 1/2 banana
  • small handful frozen berries
  • 1 cup fat free organic milk
  • 2/3 small scoop vanilla whey protein powder

Blend, pour in bowl and serve with some Kashi heart to heart cereal on top.

IMG_1633

Oh, and with a side of cornbread from the BBQ place around the corner Smile with tongue out

IMG_1634

…with a little I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter spray on top.

With all this talk about cornbread lately by Meghann and Erin, I couldn’t resist when I passed the restaurant on the way home.  Two sides of homemade cornbread to go? Yes, please.

And now that I’m finally sitting down feeling exhausted, I realized that I completely forgot to take a picture of what I had for lunch today.  Luckily, it was very similar to yesterday’s salad, but without avocado.   I also had a TJ’s multigrain sandwich thin with some hummus on it, as well as some fruit. Yumyumyum.

And now, I’m going to probably just sit here like a vegetable (no pun intended) and stare at the tv for a while…followed by staring at a book for a while…followed by staring at my pillow for a while longer. Smile

G’night folks!

<3, Jenna

What are your go-to meals after a good gym workout?  Is there something you usually crave when you’re starving and staring blankly at your open refrigerator? 

Leave a Reply

