Uncategorized

And the winner will be…(read me)

After some moaning and groaning after my post this morning, I caught up on a few blogs and then told myself to get out there and run/walk. 

I was, and still am, excited about getting back to being a runner. This morning I just felt a little achy and remembered that I still have another 7 weeks of this program until my body will be geared up for consistent 3 mile runs.  Le sigh…

Once I got out on the road, I felt great.  No, actually I felt pretty awesome. I ran in a different direction today and discovered a whole new park that I didn’t know I lived near!  After my workout (Week 1/Day 3, can be seen on my Training page) I walked to a local organic food store to pick up some bread and some chocolate protein powder. 

I had this in mind for my post-run/lunch:

IMG_1520

IMG_1525IMG_1524

The smoothie contained:

  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 to 1 cup strawberries (half frozen, half not)
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 package Spiru-Tein Chocolate Flavored Whey Protein Powder (~100 calories)

It was delicious.

Afterwards, I cleaned my apartment like a mad woman.  Sometimes it just feels good to clean every. single. thing. in your apartment/house from top to bottom.  It’s like a living space detox…er…sort of. 

A few hours later, post-cleaning, I put together a few shrimp with a vegetable mix and ate them along with a Trader Joe’s veggie burger on top of a slice of whole grain bread, with 1/4 ripe avocado and some hummus.  You already know it was awesome, so I won’t brag…

IMG_1536

IMG_1542

And now, for the ANNOUNCMENT. 

**I was thinking that since I’d like to increase my readership a little and everyone wants free stuff/healthy food products) that I’m going to ask all of you to post either a short motivational fitness story, or tell me what you do that most effectively motivates you for a workout.  So, go ahead…start talkin’ Smile**

Oh, and the reward (to the randomly generated winner) will be a hodge podge mix of healthy products…most likely including some protein powder samplers, chia seeds, etc.

 

 

Well, why are you still reading? C’mon, get typin’

 

<3, Jenna

10 thoughts on “And the winner will be…(read me)

  1. TJ’s veggie burgers rock my world. Thanks for reminding me there are some buried in my freezer. 😉

    Best motivation: taking group fitness classes. It works me out so much harder than I would on my own and is a lot of fun so that I *want* to go to the gym.

  2. Way to get out there and get it done-the hardest part of working out is going to the gym!!!
    Best motivation for me right now? A wedding! Other than that my health and being comfortable and not being petrified of my jean pile and the zippers! haha.

  3. I love giving my house a nice detox too. 🙂

    As for motivation: if I don’t feel like working out I simply get in my workout clothes and vow to do at least 10 minutes of exercise. Usually that does the trick and I want to keep going! If not, well then at least I did something rather than nothing. 😉

    • This is a great thing to do, I’ve been trying to convince myself I only need to go for ten minutes too. Once I’m out there, I love it! It’s the actual start that’s always the hardest.

  4. Pingback: Healthy(er) No Bake Cookies | Eating Green, Staying Lean

  5. Pingback: How to plan (and afford) your groceries! | Eating Green, Staying Lean

  6. Hi Jenna!

    I just came across your blog last week and am definitely enjoying it so far! Thank you for giving me this opportunity.
    I decided to go with a short success story…
    I have been a consistent yo-yo dieter for as long as I can remember. Starving myself. Losing lots of weight (and my mind). Then gaining it all back and then some. Then staving myself again.
    I have a closet full of clothes from a size 2 to a size 18. It is ridiculous – not to mention extremely unhealthy.
    I also have a slight food addiction. I LOVE to cook, try new recipes, read cookbooks etc… but I also LOVE to eat. What I have been missing for so long is the balance. It has always been all or nothing for me. I could never work out and then eat a full fat meal. So, it was just always one extreme to the other. Until last August when I came across some healthy living blogs. I had been reading cooking blogs for almost two years – but healthy living blogs were new to me. Just reading about what people ate throughout their day, what activities they did, and that yes, they had struggles just like me but found a way to balance every thing was all the inspiration I needed. I joined a gym. Refocused my meal plans. And have never looked back. I feel amazing. My activity level is through the roof. And I am enjoying cooking more than ever! This time around I am allowing for “treats”. And allowing for rest days. And allowing myself to be HAPPY!
    I am also trying to be a runner. 🙂 And have big plans for this year!
    Keep up the great work you are doing!

    • Hey Kim! Thanks for reading my blog 🙂

      Sounds like you’ve had a long journey, and it’s great that you’ve chosen to accept the good days and bad days, rest days, hungry days, etc. I’m glad to hear it!

      Good luck with your running!

  7. I just found your blog but I love it so far!

    What most effectively motivates me for a workout is getting changed into my workout clothes and having awesome music on my ipod that I only listen to when I’m working out. Also, standing in front of the mirror and seeing the layer of pudge I’ve put on over the holidays. 😉

    I’d like to get into running too. I’m looking forward to reading your blog more in the future.

    • Oh I’m so glad you love it! Every once and a while I get discouraged because there isn’t as much conversation happening as I’d like…but I know that’ll come with time. It helps when people like you comment with some great feedback 🙂

      Music is definitely a HUGE motivator for me too…especially when I’m in the middle of a workout and feel like stopping on my tired days! For some reason, some songs completely change my mind and I end up running even faster. Keep with whatever you’re doing to be healthy, any small step is a good one! And thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

