Almond Butter / Desserts / Dinner / Stir Fry Creations / Uncategorized

Surf ‘n’ Turf Stir Fry!

It’s a stir fry kinda week!

 (I apologize ahead of time for all of you vegans and vegetarians out there…tonight was organic meat night in my aparment)

First things first…

IMG_1325

Leftover Trader Joe’s shrimp stir fry with 1/2 cup quinoa, and a couple of mango pieces (I know they’re not so pretty in the plastic bag…)

IMG_1326

This afternoon went by fast at work, which always makes Mondays a little more tolerable.  On the way home, I was debating a trip to the gym but decided that since my legs were still sore from Sunday’s “run” and that I’d only feel like I was punishing myself if I went tonight.  So a compromise was made (yes, between me and myself) that I’d do some Pilates at home tonight and try my absolute hardest to get up at the crack of dawn and go to the gym, hop on a treadmill and head back home before it was time for work. 

Seems easy enough, right?

At the time it seemed like the best solution not only because I wanted to spend my time relaxing and cooking a healthy dinner, but because I am worried that I’m getting into an all-or-nothing attitude like I’ve had in the past.  It’s important that I reward myself for the incremental changes I’ve been making and stop feeling like I have  to do something (like work out 5 days a week) or else I’ve failed.  I haven’t failed, I’m doing just awesome, thanks. 🙂

Which, by the way, is a great segway into suggesting that you should all check out Caitlin’s blog and her post from this afternoon that answered a reader’s question about how to cope with an all-or-nothing mentality.  Quality stuff, I highly recommend you check it out. 

So, I went home, put on some relaxing clothes and did a short Pilates sesh (I have a few DVDs) and then went straight on to cooking the stir fry I’d been dreaming about all day at work.

Searching for simply stir fry sauces to make at home, I found this recipe to guide me (and adding a few extras along the way) and whipped up something that looked a little like this…

IMG_1328

IMG_1327IMG_1329

…served it over a half cup bed of quinoa leftover from yesterday…

IMG_1330

And voila! Dinner is served…

IMG_1333

…err…with a little help from Lily, that is.  She snuck up on the counter while I was trying to take a picture and hold my plate at the same time. (One of those moments having three hands would be helpful.)

Overall, it was a great recipe, although I would recommend thawing any frozen vegetables you use before adding them to the Wok.  I wasn’t thinking and forgot that they’d add a lot of extra water to the dish, therefore wateringgggg down the yummy sauce. C’est la vie, right?

Affffter dinner, I enjoyed another VitaTop.  This time, however, I added some almond butter drippings on top…

IMG_1341

There aren’t words.

Well, there are…but I could describe how delicious and satisfying this was for quite some time Smile

Almond butter is good for you…but having a few sneaky fingers in the jar throughout the day (and on your dessert) can lead to a larger waistline, not a smaller one.  It’s just that good.

For any of you following WW, dinner was roughly 10 points and dessert roughly 6.  I managed to go over by a few today, but that’s why they give you the flexible weekly amount.  I ❤ WW.

I hope you all had a great day! I’m off to catch up on some blog reading and relax before tomorrow morning’s early, early morning.

<3,

Jenna

What are your favorite kinds of healthy desserts?  Do you love almond butter as much as I do?  (Try dipping a piece of chocolate in the jar next time…Winking smile)

3 thoughts on “Surf ‘n’ Turf Stir Fry!

Leave a Reply

