Uncategorized

One step at a time!

That seems to be my theme for 2011.  Slow steps to weight loss (11 pounds since Thanksgiving), slow steps to cooking healthier foods (see yesterday’s shopping trip) and slow steps to being someone that exercises regularly.  In the past I have tended to be more of an all-or-nothing person so I’d work out, eat super healthy foods, and then fail three weeks later.  By gradually changing my lifestyle everything seems to be sticking much better.

This weekend’s goals were: (1) to make a trip to Trader Joe’s for groceries and (2) to start my running routine. Check anddddd check.

I know it’s not much, but I downloaded the Couch to 5K application on my phone the other day and since it tells you when to start and stop it’s a whole lot easier than running with a piece of paper to read.  I used to run cross country in high school, believe it or not, and remember a time when I could run 5 miles.

Those were the days, haha.

This morning was pretty easy, I just ran for a minute, walked for a minute and a half, and repeated for 20 minutes with a 5 minute warm up/cool down.  Repeat three times a week and in about two months we’ll have a runner on our hands.  You can read my training schedule under the “Training” tab at the top of my blog if you’d like to follow along. Smile

Today’s goal? Find a 5K during the end of March/early April to register for so that I have a concrete goal set.

Anyone in the DC area need a beginning runner buddy?  Because I could sure use one.

Before my run (!!) this morning, I had half a serving of Kashi multigrain crackers and an orange:

Post-workout I stopped at the local coffee shop for some hazelnut awesomeness (I ran out of creamer at home) before munching on a toasted TJ’s multigrain thin, a serving of light cream cheese, and a two ounce serving of smoked salmon.  Along with this I added a few strawberries and a few mango slices.

(For the WW fans out there, this meal was 6 points.)

And now, I’m going to go catch up on some other blogs, finish this delicious coffee, and take a shower.  Later today I’m planning on making a trek to Target to purchase a Rice Cooker!  I know, I know, it doesn’t sound that exciting but after reading Emily’s post about her rice cooker on her blog, The Daily Garnish, I realized I can cook all kinds of grains in one! Including my absolute favorite breakfast item, steel cut oats.  

Adios for now bloggies, I’ll catch ya later tonight Smile

<3, Jenna

Have any of you recently taken up a running plan?  What are your best tips?  How do you keep yourself motivated on those early morning runs?

2 thoughts on “One step at a time!

  1. Pingback: Surf ‘n’ Turf Stir Fry! | Eating Green, Staying Lean

  2. Pingback: Off to go for a run, but check back later! | Eating Green, Staying Lean

Leave a Reply

