Dinner / Grocery $hopping / Lunch / thoughts and ramblings / Uncategorized

A smoothie wonderland

Oh, hello there!

Before I left for my trek to Target today, I whipped up a mangolicious smoothie which included:

1/2 banana

a small handful frozen mango chunks

a small handful frozen pineapple chunks

a little less than a cup of fat free milk

1/4 cup nonfat plain greek yogurt

a handful of baby spinach

and a few chia seeds on top

(Please excuse the evidence of my dire need for a manicure…)

smoothieegreen smoooothie

Yum.  For you WW followers, this was 10 points (usually fruit is zero, but with so much of it, points accumulate).

And I have recently decided that my next expensive kitchen applicance purchase will definitely definitely definitely be a Vitamix Blender. I’ll have to wait until they’re having a super sale, but  I’ve heard too many wonderful things about the blender not to start saving money for one.

Because if you don’t know already, I LOVE smoothies.  So why not invest in a machine that will encourage healthier ones?

In other news…

I arrived at Target around 2:15 only to find that they were completely out of rice cookers! How does that happen?  Weird.

So instead, I meandered to Marshalls and purchased a personal size casserole dish, as well as a Wok so that I  can make all sorts of delicious stir fry dinners in the future.

For tonight’s dinner, I settled for a Trader Joe’s frozen shrimp stir fry since I got to use my new pan to heat it up.  I paired it with a 1/2 cup of TJ’s organic quinoa.

IMG_1299IMG_1305IMG_1301IMG_1292

And no, I didn’t eat FOUR servings Smile

IMG_1294IMG_1295

I ❤ shrimp. I can’t even wait to dive into the 50 piece frozen bag I purchased at TJ’s!!

I bought a new book today: Skinny Bitch by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin because I’d heard a few good reviews about it and wanted to see what all of the hype was about. 

I skimmed through most of the book this afternoon and while it’s extremely funny (crude humor) and brings up awesome points about animal cruelty and the real nutrition of too many animal products, I’m not completely convinced that becoming a vegan is the best choice for me.  However, I am going to focus on eating plenty of fruits and vegetables and try as hard as I can to only eat organic meat products.  Highly processed animal products just plain freak me out, plus you can afford local, organic meat if you really want to…humans don’t need to eat meat every night of the week.  My recommendation for a tight budget for those who only want organic meat? Focus on buying one or two products a week, depending on how many people you’re feeding and work it into a few meals. But again, I’m no certified nutritionist so don’t take my word only, do some research and educate yourselves. 

After dinner, I made myself some Tazo herbal tea, orange flavor and paired it with a few strawberries and a chocolate VitaTop. Kinda like chocolate cake, but better for you.

IMG_1316

And now, off relax and catch up on the news.  My heart goes out to all of those affected by the recent shooting in Tucson, AZ.

<3, Jenna

Oh, and have any of you read Skinny Bitch?  Are any of you vegan?  What is your take on the book? How hard was it to give up dairy products?

Leave a Reply

