Uncategorized

Settling in.

“Peace. It does not mean to be in a place where there is no noise, trouble or hard work.  It means to be in the midst of those things and still be calm in your heart.” ~Unknown.

That’s the quote on my mug of tea right now.  I’m sitting in bed and trying to think of a good theme for this post, and all I can come up with with so many crazy things happening in my life at any given moment that I should just try to settle into it; to try and just be.  I think that I’m just so easily caught up with the little things in life that I lose track of how important some of those little things really are.  It doesn’t matter who did the dishes last; it matters how you effectively communicate with your roommate to better the situation.

Anyways, I don’t know why I’m getting so sappy on all of you, so I’ll stop 🙂  Yesterday I got up early to golf with my dad’s cousin and his two friends from Florida.  Before leaving I munched on the last piece of quiche (see earlier post for a photo) and a bite of pumpkin bread. Usually I play quite well, but managed to play pretty sloppily yesterday.  My body just felt tired.  I got home around 3PM after reluctantly eating a not-so-great turkey sandwich on whole wheat at the golf club (his friends paid, so they pressured me into ordering something so I just ate one slice of bread instead of two), cleaned the apartment for a while, bought a few groceries that I probably didn’t need, made some coffee and watched a little TV.  Marya got out of work early so we went to see Avatar in 3D since it was just re-released and she hadn’t seen it in theaters.

Before the movies, I snacked on a little fruit plate for dinner that included a sliced peach, some fresh figs and a few blueberries topped with plain nonfat greek yogurt, a little agave syrup and a small handful of pumpkin spice granola.  It hit the spot 🙂

At the movies we splurged for popcorn (with no fake butter) and a little bit of dried mango that I snuck in 🙂

This morning I (forgot to take a photo of it) had a DELICIOUS smoothie, reminiscent of one made by the Fitnessista in a recent post (fitnessista.com). It contained:

–1/2 to 1 cup almond milk

–a little bit of water

–handful of spinach

–1 pack of Vega chocolate health optimizer

–a cup or so of frozen local strawberries

— 1 frozen med. banana

It was awesome.  I’ll make another one soon and post a photo, but to sum it up it tasted like a healthy banana split.

For lunch I had some mediterranean chicken salad and some fresh garbanzo bean salad from a local deli, along with a vegan pumpkin spice cookie (I couldn’t help myself) and a small nonfat sugar-free vanilla latte from Starbucks.

Yum yum yum yum YUM.  I’m going to need to have some self control during this fall season…I just love everything pumpkin 🙂  Look out for healthy pumpkin pancakes on this weekend’s menu 🙂

I got home around 5:30, took an accidental nap in our living room and went with Marya to grab a beer with some friends, followed by a junior burrito at Moe’s.   Not the healthiest day, but it was sure satisfying.  I’m debating starting the couch-to-5k running program this week.  I used to run cross country in high school and loved it, but have let myself fall out of shape through my college years.  Have any of you done it?  Is anyone up for a little two month challenge?

And now, I’m sitting in bed drinking tea in my cute mug and doing a little reading for class tomorrow. Yup, class.  I graduated from college early last December (2009) but have decided I might want to go to grad school so I’m taking one grad class in public administration and a stats course, which is required if I end up applying.  So, tomorrow I work 9-5 and then have class from 5:30 until 8:15…phew.  Wish me luck!

<3,

Jenna

P.S. You’ll notice eventually that I love different quotes.  What are your favorites, or what else inspires you?

Leave a Reply

