Uncategorized

Just a shimmy and a shake…

Helllloooooo!

Today was just a GREAT DAY.  For no particular reason (and no sarcasm intended) I was in a really fantastic mood all day.  Maybe it had something to do with the caffeine I had (small red eye), or maybe it was all the oranges I’ve been eating lately, or maybe it was just one o’ those days 🙂 Whatever it was felt great.

I woke up amidst a snowstorm, and walked to work in this:

This was around 7:30 this morning and we are still getting snow as we speak! In my hometown we got over 30 inches, and at my apartment we’ve gotten at least a foot so far…and it’s supposed to snow into the weekend. Yikes.

I grabbed a raspberry oat bar on my way to work (cuz I was running late) that’s not so healthy, but was staring me down in the kitchen, along with an orange.  At work I managed to munch down a small cup of mushroom soup that I added some chicken to and a small peach/blueberry/strawberry/banana/apple cider/yogurt smoothie.  It sounds overwhelming, but a kid at work convinced me to mix all the berries together and it wasn’t so bad after all 🙂

After work I got my hair did, haha. I don’t have any good pics yet because I’ve been rushing around, but it’s nothing too crazy.  I had a new girl since the other one was busy and it was a spur of the moment decision.  She added some layers, fixed up my bangs and overall it looks snazzy.

After that I ran to the grocery store to pick up some random essentials: spinach, vanilla almond milk, some frozen fruit (tropical blend and berry blend), some pineapple that is currently freezing for tomorrow morning’s green smoothie, and a few Chobani greek yogurts.  I just wanted to make sure that I’d have some ingredients for smoothies since my life is rather unorganized when I’m working long days at the restaurant.

I ran off to see Shutter Island with a couple friends, and then came back to this delicious salad:

It’s a meslcun mix with avocado, sliced apples, sauteed mushrooms and onions, a sprinkle of shredded cheddar cheese, a few sliced apples and two strawbs on top with our apple cider vinaigrette dressing. YUM.  Also yum because it was free from work and for the most part I’m rather poor lately, hmpf. Such is life.

Good news: I have an interview next week for the possible campaign assistant job so I’ll definitely keep you all posted!

And now, I’m off to bed without cleaning my room like I told myself I would.  I suppose there’s always tomorrow… 😉

<3, Jenna

QUESTION: What is your favorite cheap, healthy meal?  I know a lot of people enjoy rice with veggies, but I’m not a huge fan of rice.  Any suggestions that don’t break the budget?

P.S. The title of this post is only because I can’t get the song “On Top” by the Killers out of my head…I’ve been blasting it all day in my car. 🙂


2 thoughts on “Just a shimmy and a shake…

  1. Congrats on the interview next week! I can’t believe you got all that snow 😕

    Favorite cheap meal = Sweet potatoes + _______. Sweet potatoes go with anything!

Leave a Reply

