Uncategorized

I <3 Green Smoothies

Hello there!

I woke up this morning and had a little “weight loss” maple and brown sugar instant oatmeal because I was feelin’ too lazy (and was too pressed for time) to really do much else.  Pretty much all the “weight loss” label means is that it has less sugar, more fiber and more protein…which is good news for most of us 🙂

In the oatmeal, I added some chia seeds and half a banana, sliced:

Afterwards I was still cravin’ a little something else, so I had a VitaTop chocolate style:

Yummm.  While at work, I snacked on a Chobani nonfat greek yogurt, honey flavored and then later on enjoyed a buckwheat crepe with an egg, pesto, spinach, and caramelized onions inside.

I tried to snag a pic for you before I finished eating…sorry it’s not that great:

After work I headed to the gym for a strength sesh with my bestie and managed to do: (all 12 reps, 3 sets)

  • Back extensions
  • Vertical Knee Raises
  • Seated Russian Twists
  • Inner and Outer Thighs on the machine
  • Bicep Curls (10lbs)
  • Chest Press with free weights (10lbs)
  • Tricep Kickbacks (10 lbs)
  • Squats, and a few lunges

It was a speedy workout, but I killed my abs so I’m hopin’ I’m a little sore in the morning 🙂

After the gym, I helped myself to a piece of multigrain toast with a little red pepper hummus and veggie cream cheese (sounds weird, but it was gooood), then made a mushroom veggie burger and topped it with tomato sauce, and made the best GREEN smoothie creation ever…

I was reading the Fitnessista’s blog this morning and so I give her full credit for this amazing sludgy smoothie creation.  Check our her post today for what she put in hers.  In my variation I added:

  • about 1 cup of almond milk
  • almost a cup of spinach or so
  • 1/4 tsp Spirulina
  • 1 whole banana
  • 1/2 serving of Chobani nonfat vanilla yogurt
  • 3/4 scoop Designer Whey Vanilla
  • about 1/2 cup frozen pineapple

All together it was about 500 calories, so I drank half and left the other half for my breakfast 🙂  Green smoothies look scary, but if you make them right they are definitely worth sneaking in the extra serving of veggies…

It looks kinda funky, but I promise it was smooth and yummy! 🙂

And noww, I’m off to bed because early early because I have to get up and do it all over again tomorrow…

G’night all!

<3,

Jenna

3 thoughts on “I <3 Green Smoothies

  1. Hey Jenna,

    I tried a Green Smoothie this week for the first time, after being scared by the idea of spinach or anything green for that matter in drinkform, but….was pleasantly surprised with the result!

    I will have to try your combination:)

    Could you tell me more about Chobani yogurt? I haven’t found it yet in Canada, but I’m wondering if there might be a substitute that I could try?

    • The Chobani yogurt I use is just like any other nonfat greek yogurt, it just happens to be on sale a lot at my local Price Chopper 🙂 I’d definitely recommend that brand, or I’ve heard Oikos is good, as well as Fage. Try a few out and see which you like best!

      Thanks for asking, and glad you enjoyed the green smoothie! 🙂

Leave a Reply

