Uncategorized

Photo shoots and grocery shoppin’ goodies!

Oh my god, I got so many delicious goodies today I can’t even stand the excitement!

I’ll start with the recap of my morning, though, so we can end on a good great note 🙂 I got back to my house and convinced my mom into going for a walk with me in the freezing cold 20 degree (felt like 5) weather.  While she walked our little labradoodle Henry, I did my run for 3 minutes/walk for 2 minutes routine.  Since a) it’s harder to run outside than on the treadmill, b) it was cold as !@$* and c) my knees were feelin’ a little tired today, I decided to opt out on the last two running spurts.  I ended up run/walking for six of eight times, then walked the rest for a total of 40 minutes. Total burn? About 400 calories, not bad.

After my run, I rushed to shower before heading to an annual check up at the doctor’s (everything is workin’ fine) while my mom heated me up some of her latest spicy stir fry and a little slice of ham, which I ended up throwing on top and eating the mess in the car 🙂

After my doctor’s appointment, I was still hungry.  Luckily, my mom had been interested in buying some of the healthy foods she’s been seeing me try and love on my little blog, so we headed to the co-op nearby that I’d also never been to.  It was awesome. I loaded up on a few things I haven’t been able to find near my apartment, including:

Mary's Crackers! (Gluten free, Wheat free)I also bought these babies in the original, plain flavor too. My first time having them, but SO GOOD.

Doctor Kracker's Pumpkin Seed Cheddar Flatbreads!

These fancy little "chunks of energy supergreens" mini granola-like bars

And the amaaazzzingg ingredient list, check it out!

A close-up of these puppies 🙂

Then…in the spirit of Valentine’s day, I bought a little candy 🙂

One word: scrumptious.

I bought a few more items, including the health-bloggy-world-coveted MILLET BREAD that I’m going to try first thing in the morning.  I haven’t taken pics of a few items (including that one) so I’ll be sure to post them while I try them 🙂 But honestly, I could stay in co-ops and health food stores for hours just looking at all the delicious foods.  Does anyone else get as excited to grocery shop in health food stores as I do?

While still at the store, I grabbed a few ingredients for the HEALTHY granola/energy bars my mom and I made once we got home. On the way home, i munched on another goodie I bought, an almond nut butter ball! SO DELICIOUS.

(Good thing I bought two ;))

My mom had  been asking me to help her make these granola bars ever since I made them a couple weeks ago and brought her one to try. I’m too tired to figure out the calorie ratio at the moment, but there ended up being 20 little square bars that I anticipate making fantastic pre-workout snacks. In ours we put (for a basic recipe check out my ENHANCED RECIPES section of my blog’s homepage):

  • 2.5 cups rolled oat/quick oat combo (ran out of rolled oats)
  • about 1/2 cup whole wheat bread flour (didn’t have regular)
  • 1/3 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup flax seed meal
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened coconut
  • 2.25 cups dried fruit/nut mix
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 3 eggs, two whole, one egg white
  • a few tablespoons of honey
  • 1/2 cup natural peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup blue agave nectar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 3 tsp (ish?) vanilla…i was pretty liberal with it
  • some allspice
  • some nutmeg
  • 1/4 or so tsp sea salt

I think that’s all, but I may edit the list tomorrow if I’m forgetting a few things.  Here’s a photo of the batch after it came out of the 350 degree oven (for 20 minutes):

It helps to flatten the mixture with a potato masher to get the top completely flat before baking it.

And here’s a picture of my half of the piece my mom and I split after they were done:

Sorry the picture is dark, but they were YUMMMY. I can’t wait to try them tomorrow…they’re even better the second day!

After the granola bar making extravaganza, I made myself look pretty, took a few pictures (since I haven’t posted many yet):


I just thought you guys hadn’t really seen a good full-body shot, so i figured why not while I’m lookin’ hawt 🙂  The first pic is kind of a fake smile, but it’s hard to self-shoot. The good news is that I dropped a pant size! I recently bought a pair at the gap that were the same jeans I have, only a dark wash (seen here) for a whole size lower. Woot woot!

And thenn, after all my hard work (haha) I headed out to dinner with the boyfriend, his bestie and his bestie’s girlfriend.  We ate at Applebees and I had a grilled chicken dish with portobello mushrooms, red peppers, dijon sauce and a side of steamed veggies and a lil bit of potato (on their 550 calorie or less menu).  Afterwards, I shared a strawberry cheesecake dessert (those tiny cute ones they serve in shot glasses) with the boy. Cheesecake may or may not be my favorite food on the planet.

And now, after this humungo post…I’m off to bed.  I’ll be sure to let you all know how the millet bread tastes in the morning.

G’night! <3,

Jenna

Question(s): Do you love grocery shopping or find it as more of a “chore”? What is your favorite newly discovered healthy food?

8 thoughts on “Photo shoots and grocery shoppin’ goodies!

  1. Hi! I LOVE going to health food stores and could literally spend an hour in them (if they’re good. we have some crappy ones in the city too). I’ve had a few kinds of the energy ‘chunks’ and like them a lot. The green ones though can be a bit much after more than one or two! Your granola bar recipe sounds great! I only started making granola just before Christmas and haven’t tried making bars but want to. I love that there are dark choc chips in yours!

Leave a Reply

