Uncategorized

Miracles in the making…

“The miracle isn’t that I finished.  The miracle is that I had the courage to start.

…To prepare and finish is not a miracle.  With patience and good humor, all of us can achieve our dreams.  The miracle is that we were still able to reach down and find some part of ourselves that still believed our dreams were possible.”

(words from John Bingham, out of his co-authored book, Running for Mortals.)

If you read my blog on a regular basis, you’ll eventually learn that quotes are some of my favorite things to find, read and keep to inspire myself (or other people) with.  This one in particular caught my eye and has stuck with me since reading John Bingham’s book.  The point is that even though you may not always be on top of your game 100% of the time, it’s the effort that counts.  And that in itself is a great life philosophy to carry in the world of exercise, in my opinion.  The hard part is always starting.

And now… I should probably start the meaty part of my blog post (pun possibly intended)… 🙂

Where did we leave off? Oh yes, last night before I fell asleep.  I woke up this morning, went to work until 3ish.  My breakfast consisted of steel cut oats (made an emergency trip to the health foods store), topped with sliced banana, chia seeds, flax, cinnamon, and natural peanut butter:

While at work, I tried a new flavor of the RAW REVOLUTION raw granola bars: Chocolate Coconut…who can resist?

It was delicious! Then, for lunch we decided to order some amazing pizza from a local place, and it ended up that they delivered the food and we swapped the pizza with our yummy food and didn’t have to pay a thing!  They said, I quote, “Call us anytime!” haha…I love the people around this town.  It was crazy at work today because we’re close to water, and there was a “Penguin Plunge” charity event, which basically means a bunch of crazy people jumped into FREEZING cold water.  Yikes. Let’s just say I had to make a LOTTA hot chocolates all day 🙂

So I had one (yes, one!) smallish piece of veggie pizza…completely covered in veggies, which is my favorite.  I would have sneaked a picture, but it was still insane so I pretty much inhaled the slice and kept working.

After work, I cooked myself two pieces of turkey bacon.  Kind of a weird snack (which I probably will never eat alone before running again) but it was still yummy.

Then, my bestie and I met up for a gym date.  I did my run/walk plan (also written on the sidebar of my blog homepage) of a 5 minute fast walking warm-up, followed by running 3 min/walking fast 2 min and repeated 9 times for a total of 50 minutes on the treadmill. Total burn? About 450 calories. The plus side was that I paid so much attention to running and walking at certain times that the workout FLEW by.

Also, I’m really starting to fall back in love with running and it makes me happy. There’s something completely liberating about feeling your body working hard and reaping the benefits (slowly, but surely).

After the gym, bestie and I stopped to get a coffee and I had the most delicious soy latte…probably ever.  I didn’t take a picture because after a while it gets boring to see pictures of Starbucks cups.  After getting coffee, we ran down to the health food store downtown because she informed me that they had CANNED PUMPKIN, and not the organic kind.  Yes, canned pumpkin…the same pumpkin that I wrote about there being a shortage of only a few days ago.

So I RUSHED down there with her, and this may sound silly but I bought 6 cans.  And she bought me two the day before because she was so excited.  That’s when you know you have a good friend 🙂  Either that, or that I’m just weird to get excited about it, haha.

My pumpkin pyramid…:)

For dinner I grabbed some vegan chili, a little bit of a spicy peanut-flavored tofu salad mix (both from the health food store), and a small salad.

The chili was yummier than expected!

The peanut tofu salad mixture...yummm

Now, all together because it looks like a lot but I ate it on a smaller sized plate:

Following a quick dinner, my roomie and I headed out to see Dear John.  Overall I thought it was very well done, although I haven’t read the book.  It was a great love story and I cried like a baby (haha) but it is definitely worth seeing if you’re into sappy movies once and a while.  It kind of reminded me of the notebook (and may even be slightly better).

While at the health food store earlier today, I also picked up some of my favorite greek yogurt (Fage brand, nonfat):

And as you may have already guessed, I enjoyed a little bit of pumpkin yogurt as a dessert after the movie.  In mine I added:

  • less than a 1/2 cup (each) of canned pumpkin and greek yogurt
  • a teaspoon or so of agave nectar
  • a teaspoon or so of brown sugar
  • a dash of cinnamon
  • some of my Barenaked granola

Stir it all up and what do you get? One of my most favorite healthy desserts everrrr. Thanks for the idea, Caitlin!
And where does that leave me? A tired, tired girl ready for bed.  I’m off to catch up on a few of my favorite blogs (see them on Twitter on my follow friday tweet!)

I’ll leave you with a picture of a cute reusable bag I bought at the health food store today:

At the bottom it says the name of the store, and “Eat Local”.  Cute, right?  I thought so.

G’night all! I’m off to work from 9 until 3ish tomorrow, then headed home to see the boyfriend ❤  I’ll try to put a post up during the early afternoon.

<3, Jenna

Question of the day: What kind of things inspire or drive you?  Quotes? Pictures? People? What motivates you to get through workouts, get to the gym, or keep going to the gym?

12 thoughts on “Miracles in the making…

  1. I’ve just come across your blog–fantastic! I love all of the food photos. As a complete disaster in the kitchen, it really helps to see photos and descriptions of healthy, doable food. Keep them coming! 🙂

  2. Thanks so much for your comment 🙂
    There’s a shortage of canned pumpkin in your area?? That’s so odd…I guess I should feel lucky to have it year-round

    When I’m running I like to listen to motivational music!

  3. I have heard about the pumpkin shortage but I hadn’t really experienced it until recently! It’s AWFUL not to be able to find pumpkin for my oats!

  4. Oh I love quotes!! As far as getting through workouts, that would be music. I must have my ipod 🙂
    Love the food, and pumpkin yogurt is just amazing. I don’t blame you on stocking up on the pumpkin and i’d be excited too.
    Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

