Uncategorized

Day full o’ sweets

Hi everyone!

First of all, my apologies for not posting all day until now.  The internet in my apartment likes to randomly stop working every week or two, so again, I’m so sorry.  You should all follow me on Twitter at @eatGRNstaylean so you can at least see my updates from my phone when that happens.

Now on to the good stuff…

Last night I finally decided on something for dessert, and it wasn’t dark chocolate and AB (almond butter). Instead, I sliced a macintosh apple, put a little Teddie’s natural PB on each piece, and then melted some semi-sweet chocolate chips in a little 1% milk and put a tiny drizzle on each.  Here’s the pretty plate (sorry the picture is so dark), and a closeup for good measure 🙂

And no, I didn’t eat them all myself (although it was tempting). My roommate ended up sharing half while we watched the Biggest Loser…silly (and in my opinion a horrible way to promote healthy weight loss), but addicting.

I decided to go to the gym earlier than usual this morning, so I woke up and ate half a banana and one of my delicious Super-Charge Me! Cookies (recipe here from Eat, Drink and Be Vegan).

Yummmmmy. Sorry, didn’t take a pic of the banana half, but I’m guessing most of you have seen one before 🙂

Then, I worked hard on the elliptical (on the random setting to keep my heart rate up) for 50 minutes.

Total burn? About 550 calories.

Next, it was on to the lunch-making fiasco that ensued.  I decided to make an all out brunch, and so that’s what I did (with a couple ‘firsts’ in the process).

First #1: I tried Turkey Bacon!

Before cooking, in case you (like I) had never seen it before.

After cooking.  I may have burnt them a little because I wasn’t sure when they would be done.  I also may or may not have eaten all three pieces before even cooking the rest of my brunch.  Tastiness factor?  I thought they were an absolute great, healthy alternative to the real thing.

Thennn, I proceeded to make some of my favorite pancakes: Quaker Oatmeal style

With a few of these bad boys in each one…

Final product...yummmmmmy!

First #2: Putting yogurt and other crazy toppings (seen here: flax, chia seeds, granola and banana) ON my pancakes

Picture of pancake brunchy granola mess #1 (taken from above)

picture of granola mess #2: after a few bites were taken, note the layers!

This was AWESOME.  To make, I layered two pancakes and slabbed on some Strawberry Chobani greek yogurt inbetween and on top, then added chia seeds, some of my Barenaked granola, half a sliced banana, sprinkled with flax meal, then drizzled with some real Vermont maple syrup. Gahh, so good.

After this deliciousness I took a shower and relaxed a bit before heading to work at 3.  Since I don’t always have time to sit down to eat a real meal at work, I whipped up a smoothie beforehand containing:

  • about 1/2 cup each medium pulp OJ and vanilla almond milk
  • 3/4 scoop vanilla Designer Whey protein powder
  • 1 serving avocado (1/4 of the entire avocado)
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 cup frozen berries (strawbs, raspberries, blackberries, and blueberries)

So far, it’s the best combination of ingredients I’ve had in a smoothie.  I slurped it down on the way to work and while there, munched on a RAW REVOLUTION raw food granola bar, Raspberry Chocolate flavor. Yumm.

This has quickly become a favorite.

And now, after this long post, I’m in bed ready to snooze.  I have to be at work at 8am tomorrow, so sorry again if I don’t post until the afternoon.

You never know, I may feel super motivated at 6am…we’ll see.

Something to look forward to: I’ve decided the time frame and running plan that I’m going to use to gradually bring myself up to runner status (and hopefully half-marathon runner status by fall) for the next few months.  It’s going to become a new tab up near the About Me section, as soon as I have time to type it all in! Feel free to run along with me 🙂

Have a great night!

-Jenna

3 thoughts on “Day full o’ sweets

Leave a Reply

