Uncategorized

Souper(!) acorn squash

Wellll, since our last encounter I have TWO important announcements:

  1. I was approved to be a FoodBuzz Featured Publisher! This means that I’ll soon be having one of their ads on my blog, and will eventually make a few bucks as my readership increases.  This is good news for all of you, because as soon as I get more readers I’ll be doing some fun giveaways!  So please, tell your friends to check this little blog out!
  2. Although numbers aren’t too important in my new healthier and active lifestyle, it is encouraging to see a three pound drop on the scale in the past two weeks! Now I know this could be attributed to many factors and may change daily, but it still puts a smile on your face while you’re hoofin’ it on the elliptical 🙂

For my mid-morning snack, I munched on the remaining serving of veggie pirate booty while cleaning up my room at the apartment (shown here on a fancy cut-up pirate booty bag, to save dirtying a dish)

When lunchtime rolled around I chowed down on some of my Quinoa Salad that I made yesterday, along with some salad w/avocado and the tiny bit leftover from my Spinach, Artichoke, Chicken Pasta concoction (Rachael-Ray recipe) I made a few nights ago.

That quinoa is a taste of summer, for sure.

After I finished tidying up my room, my friend and I headed to the gym.  Today was supposed to be a weights day, but for some reason my body just felt tired.  Sooo, in the spirit of listening to what it was telling me, I took it a little easier today and did a 45 minute elliptical session.  Now don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t easy per se, but it seemed less exhausting.  Sometimes you just have to give your body a break.  But definitely stay tuned for my weights workout tomorrow!

Total burn? About 475 calories.

After the gym, I picked up some ginger and allspice at Pchops (Price Chopper) to make my soup!  I found a pretty basic squash soup recipe here, by Emeril.  However, I did make a few variations. I used:

  • 2 acorn squash, halved w/seeds scooped out and roasted (40 minutes @ 400 degrees, cut side down)
  • 2 chopped macintosh apples, chopped
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 1 shallot, chopped (forgot to buy an onion, but the substitute worked well)
  • maybe 3 or less cups chicken stock
  • 1 cup water
  • a WHOLE LOTTA shakes out of my ginger, allspice, cinnamon and nutmeg seasonings. YUM.

I followed the recipe’s basic instructions pretty closely, so for those just check out the link above.  Here are a few pictures…

Acorn squashes, post-roast

The final product (after putting the batch in my fancy food processor)

The final product, after putting the batch into my fancy food processor.

Thennnn, I had a few scoops for dinner w/two (yes, two…it’s good for dipping) pieces of my yummy frozen multigrain bread!

I decorated my soup with a dash of chia seeds and some parsley flakes 🙂

Overall? Pretty satisfied.  I LOVE dipping bread into soups, so goooooooood.

After dinner, I showered and relaxed a bit.  Mondays are The Bachelor dates with my roomie, so we chilled and watched that for a while.

Mid-show I was thinking about having some dessert and opted to go all out for some hot chocolate, made with a 50/50 mix of regular 1% milk and vanilla almond milk, a hot chocolate packet and a lil bit of whipped cream (Cabot style).

It was well worth the indulgence.  Here’s a picture after I ate the whipped cream (sorry, guys :))

And here’s a closer photo of my favorite mug:

Coffee and reading are two of my favorite things, why not combine them?  I found this mug at the NEWSEUM in Washington, DC during my summer stay there in 2008.  Such a fun museum!

That’s all for now, folks.  I’m off to read a bit and get an earlyish night’s sleep, got a killer weights workout tomorrow to look forward to 🙂

G’night!

Question: What motivates you when you feel like you’re having an ‘off’ or tired day at the gym (or in general)?  What gets you through your workout?

One thought on “Souper(!) acorn squash

Leave a Reply

