Uncategorized

Brunch for dinner!

Well hello there, everyone!

A quick thanks to those of you who have come back to read my blog again today 🙂  I’m continuously happy that you all are enjoying what I write.

After my super-fast post this morning, I finished that delicious steel cut oats combo, fixed my hair and rushed off to work at the restaurant.

While there, I munched on a KIND granola bar, Almond and Apricot with Yogurt flavor.  I’m sorry I don’t have a picture, I felt weird taking one in the middle of the restaurant, but just trust me that it was yummy!  I also enjoyed half a smoothie that had: peaches, strawberries, some yogurt and apple cider in it.  We serve these at work and so once and a while I enjoy the extras.  It was super busy today, so I deserved something to make up for not having a lunch break.

Once I got out of work, I had a pre-gym snack: a piece of multigrain toast with a little avocado and red pepper hummus spread on top.

Pre-mixing…
Post-mixing…

This was one of the tastiest combos I’ve had yet. MUCH better than butter or cream cheese (healthier too!)

It was a cardio day at the gym, and I decided to conquer some more running, so:

  • I hopped on the elliptical for 35 minutes,
  • then ran for TWENTY minutes.

Total burn? About 580 calories.

    Not too shabby for just starting up running again the other day.  Half marathon? Here I come.

    After the gym, my friend and I grabbed a few ingredients at the grocery store and I decided to make BRUNCH creations for dinner!

    We had:

    a small spinach/meslcun salad mix with a few grape tomatoes and a delicious apple maple vinaigrette dressing…

    …followed by an OMELETE filled with onions, mushrooms and avocado, and a veggie sausage patty on the side, Morningstar brand…

    Yum. I love omelettes, and could eat eggs every day.

    To minimize the fat and cholesterol I used 2 whole eggs and 4 egg whites.  I then added a splash of 1% milk, some SPIKE, garlic powder, and some Mrs. Dash seasoning and whisked it all together.

    Meanwhile, I had some EVOO, baby portobello mushrooms, and 1/4 of a chopped onion sautéing in my nonstick pan.  After 7-10 minutes, or until the onions are kinda translucent and the mushrooms have released their juices, I put them aside in a bowl.

    I then added in the egg mixture and mixed it around the bowl, pushing down the edges until it became a semi-solid jiggly mix (should have taken a picture, sorry).  After waiting another minute or two, I added some shredded Cabot sharp cheddar cheese (my FAVORITE), added back in the mushroom/onion mix and also some avocado (about 1/4 of one).

    I attempted to flip over half of the omelet and semi-failed, so my half became an omelet/scramble type deal.  However, it was still an awesome, protein-filled, low-carb brunchy delicious dinner.

    Then, I treated myself to a few of these bad boys:

    Dark chocolate has become one of my best friends.  These mini Hershey dark chocolate bites are the perfect way to satisfy a sweet tooth, minus the calories of chocolate lava cake 🙂

    That’s all I’ve got for now.  I got a call asking me to come into work early tomorrow at 7:30 (was supposed to be there at 9:30), so I’m going to go simmer some more steel cut oats.  They really seem to curb my hunger during a busy brunch at the restaurant, when most of the time I don’t get a break for lunch or snacks.

    Have a great night!

    <3,

    Jenna

    4 thoughts on “Brunch for dinner!

      • Haha, the restaurant is just super busy on the weekends, and for some reason I get the grunt shifts lately. **sigh** oh well 🙂

        As for the half, yes I am going to run one…eventually. My plan is to get myself back into running shape, do a couple 5Ks early spring/summer and register for a half towards late summer/early fall. I’m so excited already!

    Leave a Reply

    