Uncategorized

Oatmeal foodliciousness

Yes, you heard it: foodliciousness. But more on that later in the post…

Yesterday, after updating you on my not-so-colorful breakfast, I headed out for a walk with my mom on a nearby trail mountain into a state forest. Boy, it was steep. This picture doesn’t exactly do it justice:

You can start to see the hill getting steeper, but that was just the beginning…

…and for all that work? Only about 350 calories.  Not too bad considering we had to go 2mph on the way down the icy slope.

Back to our house safe and sound, and with a tired pooch…(cute, I know)…I showered, had a bit of Teddie’s peanut butter w/flaxseed (my favorite) for  a snack:

A little up close and personal pic for ya 🙂

Thennn, we finally proceeded to have lunch at a local cafe: cream of tomato soup (I ate half) and we split a hummus and veggie sandwich on multigrain bread with a few sea salted chips on the side:

Yum YUM Yum.

But the best part of lunch was that they had just made fresh mini eclairs.  I couldn’t resist, they are my favorite. I debated splitting one with my mom, but they were small and so delicious that we just got one a piece…here are some closeups:

Thennn, I headed back to my apartment that’s two hours away.  Once in town, I stopped at our health food store and bought a few essentials: dried fruit & nut mix (140 cals/1/4 cup), a few bags of pirate’s booty (on sale for $1.79 per bag), and a few new items to spice up foods this week:

*Nutritional Yeast I only bought about a 1/3 of a cup because I’m apprehensive about how it will taste.  However, this yeast has about 70 calories per serving and, as I’ve read, has a taste similar to that of cheese.  Some (like the Fitnessista) sprinkle it on top of popcorn, and some spice up their smoothies with the stuff.

*Vegan Carob Chocolate Chips Now, one mistake I made with these was to jump right into the bag and grab a few to munch on. NOT a good idea.  The only carob I’ve ever had (and loved each time) was cooked, and so I’ll have to incorporate them into a healthy cookie recipe of some sort.

*Carob-Covered Mint-Flavored Rice Cake Ringing in at 200 calories per rice cake, these aren’t for munching on in multiples.  However, they are healthier than thin mint cookies and once bitten into are completely reminiscent of the real thing.

*Lastly, I bought a few new superfoods that I’ve been reading about on multiple blogs (i.e. Fitnessista, HealthyTippingPoint) For more information on the three foods I purchased, check out the Fitnessista’s Pantry Essentials Post. Lots of good information there.  Here’s what I bought: Chia Seeds, Hemp Seeds (not in the photo), Goji Berries, and Spirulina powder:

I’m hesitant about trying the Spirulina, being that it is a blue-green algae in powder form, but it is supposed to give you energy, help your cells burn fat, and is a great vitamin supplement for your body in general.  I’m sure it won’t be too bad. (Check out a post later this afternoon, I’ll be trying it in a smoothie.)

I opted to try out the hemp seeds and goji berries in an Oatmeal Mixture for this morning’s breakfast.  It included:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats (150 calories)
  • 1/2 serving (.5 oz) Goji Berries (50 cals)
  • 3/4 cup Almond Milk (50 cals)

I mixed these three things together and microwaved them for two and a half minutes. (Which may have lots a few nutrients in the goji berries, but more on that later today).

Then added:

  • 1/4 cup of my dried fruit/nut mix (140 calories)
  • 1 tbsp agave nectar (60 calories)
  • a few pinches of hemp seeds and a teaspoon of brown sugar (about 35 calories)
  • a few pinches of slivered almonds (maybe about 1/8 of a cup, or 80ish calories)

Total? About 565 calories.

Seems like a lot, but I ate a late breakfast (around 10) and am planning on heading to the gym for a 45 min to an hour elliptical workout within the next hour, which will burn most of that.  Not too worried. Plus, it was the best oatmeal I’ve ever had:

This is pre-mixing, the hemp seeds are on the bottom, fruit mix at 3 o’clock, almonds at 11 o’clock, Goji berries are the red things, and the Agave is on the teaspoon (plus a little more) yum.Post-mixture, pre-tummy. 🙂

Now, I’m off to finish watching Rachael Ray, get into my gym attire and head out.  See you all later for a post about Spirulina, superfoods and smoothies!

<3, Jenna

5 thoughts on “Oatmeal foodliciousness

  1. I have that exact same soup-cup. Isn’t it weird how the markets work out? If there was one “raw” food for all of breakast, lunch, and supper, what three meals would you reccommend?

  2. I LOVED that soup cup (one of the main reasons I took the picture, haha)! I wish I owned one like it. As for your question, and just to be clear, are you asking which raw ingredient I’d choose to use for all meals ORR are you asking for different meal ideas? I’m guessing the first, but just wanted to make sure 🙂

    • So far, I’ve LOVED my experience with goji berries. Try adding them to oatmeal at breakfast, maybe some smoothies for lunch/post-gym snack, and even in your desserty foods for dinner. Definitely delicious. But I’d recommend experimenting with a variety of things, as I’m doing to really spice up your menu.

Leave a Reply

