Uncategorized

Painless before and afters

Good evening!

As I write this, I’m being motivated by enjoying the movie Julia and Julia with my mom. For those of you unfamiliar, it is a movie based on two women: one, Julia Child, the famous American chef; and two, a woman who writes a blog about Julia Child and conquers 365 recipes in one year.  A fantastic film, if you ask me 🙂

Lunch with Keith (the boyfriend) was really nice. It’s rare that we get to see each other during a sunny afternoon, and it was nice to spend time with him (as usual).  I enjoyed a tuna melt atop an english muffin, and a little bit of coleslaw on the side (and a small cup of coffee):

Tuna melt with swiss cheese, atop an english muffin w/ a side of slaw!

After lunch, I went to work with him for an hour or so and relaxed for a bit, then headed to a nearby town to pick up a couple 10lb dumbbells to get in my Winter Shape Up 2010- Week 2 workout at home!

After finding those bad boys, I headed home to get in a workout.  Since it was such a beautiful sunny day here I was planning on going for a run, but instead I settled for survived a Jillian Michael’s workout: Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism, found on our list of Comcast On Demand options.

Now, let me just say that survived was EXACTLY the correct word to use.  This workout, like her others, made me want to die a little.  My heart rate monitor told me my heart was averaging about 168-170 and I was sweatin’.  For some reason after that I was still feeling motivated, so I did three sets (12 reps) of bicep curls and tricep kickbacks.  And THEN (crazy, I know) I did a little yoga with my mom.

Overall calorie burn?  About 675, according to Mr. Heart Rate Monitor.

Post-insanity, I made up a beautiful salad for my mom and I (similar to yesterday’s concoctions, minus the avocado) and had half a chicken parm breast, a little sauce, and a tiny bit o’pasta.  Mmmm.

BEFORE:

AFTER:

Messy-but-definite evidence of a satisfying dinner (and hungry HUNGRY me).

And now, even though I’ve learned multiple times that food should not be used as a reward, I’m going to treat myself to some delicious ice cream (it’s Edy’s slow-churned Girl Scout Thin Mint and half the fat).  Per serving, it’s about 150 calories and 6g of fat per 1/2 cup, so I will stick to the serving. And after that hellish challenging workout, it’s the least I could do. 🙂

For now, I’m signing off.  You can look forward to a few changes on the block in the next couple weeks as I continue to figure out this new WordPress site and all of the wonderful things it can do.  Feel free to comment on what you love/hate.

<3, Jenna

Leave a Reply

